Dvorak & Strauss

Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 7:30 PM ET: Live digital concert premiere
Mar 13 at 7:30 PM ET – Mar 15 at 7:30 PM ET:
48-hour concert access

Please note: Digital Concerts begin with a livestream premiere followed by 48-hour concert access.

Lawrence Golan, Conductor

Don’t be fooled by the lack of strings, this wind ensemble concert features some of the finest symphonic repertoire ever written. Suite in B-Flat Major famously launched Strauss’ career due to the composition’s lyrical quality and fine craftsmanship that features each wind instrument. Influenced by Mozart’s Wind Serenade, Dvořák composed Serenade for Wind Instruments with a symphonic structure in a distinctly Czech style. Arthur Bird’s Serenade for Wind Instruments earned him the Paderewski Prize as the best chamber work for the work’s resonance and contrasting themes.

RICHARD STRAUSS Suite in B-Flat Major
ARTHUR BIRD Serenade for Wind Instruments
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Serenade for Wind Instruments

Digital Access Instructions

      1. Purchase a $10 digital ticket online through your Appell Center account.
      2. You will receive an email confirmation with a link to access the livestream.
      3. Click on the link to enjoy the YSO from your home during the 48-hour concert access.

How to Access the Digital Concert on a Smart TV

      • Before the concert: Click the link from your confirmation email on a computer, tablet or smart phone and add this video to your YouTube account’s “Watch Later” list.
      • To watch the concert: Go to the YouTube app on your Smart TV. Go to your “Watch Later” list and choose the livestream concert. Sit back and enjoy the concert!

Questions about the digital concert?
Contact the Appell Center Box Office by leaving a voicemail at 717-846-1111 or email The box office is working remotely, so please be patient with their response time.

Behind the Scenes with Maestro Golan