2021-22 Season: Classical Series

Mr. & Mrs. Schumann

Saturday, October 30, 2021, 7:30 PM
Appell Center for the Performing Arts
In-person seating and digital access for 48 hours after premiere

Lawrence Golan, Conductor
Stephanie Cheng, Piano

Subscriptions and Pick 5 Packages On-Sale Now! Subscribe online or call the Appell Center Box Office at 717-846-1111. NEW! Subscriptions & Pick 5 includes seats and digital access.

Subscription and single ticket information available here. Single Tickets On-Sale now! New! Buy theatre seats or digital access.

Romantic era composers Clara & Robert Schuman intertwined their music compositions as they collaborated and shared their love of music. In celebration of their marriage, Robert created the festive Overture, Scherzo And Finale. Written as a teenager, Clara composed the Piano Concerto with its contrasting, dramatic themes. Acclaimed pianist Stephanie Cheng will perform the Piano Concerto’s brilliant & demanding solo. Lastly, Robert wrote the amorous, uplifting “Spring” Symphony No. 1, which inspired by a German poet about spring bloom.

ROBERT SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo and Finale
Piano Concerto
Symphony No. 1 (“Spring”)

The health and safety of all our patrons is our highest priority. Read about the Appell Center’s COVID 19 safety precautions and policies here.

Digital Access Instructions
1) Purchase a digital ticket online through your Appell Center account.
2) You will receive an email confirmation with a link to access the livestream.
3) Click on the link to enjoy the YSO from your home during the 48-hour concert access.

How to Access the Digital Concert on a Smart TV
Before the concert: Click the link from your confirmation email on a computer, tablet or smart phone and add this video to your YouTube account’s “Watch Later” list.

To watch the concert: Go to the YouTube app on your Smart TV. Go to your “Watch Later” list and choose the livestream concert. Sit back and enjoy the concert!

Enjoy the Digital Program Book